Social media: staying connected

social media tags

Source: 5loom

Social media has become a part of our daily lives. We access it constantly, update statuses, pin images, tweet comments and read blogs. Each of us helps to form the social media landscape.

Suddenly each of us have become a multitude of professions: photographers, writers, content curators, marketers.

Since this is my first post, I thought it would be appropriate to begin with an introduction. I am each of these things. I share my photos, I tweet and update my status about what I see, hear and feel – sometimes inappropriately but I’m not alone in this right? I also pin images to my Pinterest boards and share Buzzfeed content with my friends – usually of DIY suggestions or stories told by cats.

I am studying Public Relations and I am quickly learning that those inappropriate statuses we write in a state of frustration are not ideal, especially in business. It’s important to use social media strategically in PR and so, I aim to focus on how we can use social media effectively in the PR industry.

Leave a Reply

